Canadian Bar Association
Annual Access to Information and Privacy Law Symposium

A Brief Retrospective

Suzanne Legault, Information Commissioner of Canada

Ottawa, ON

October 28, 2016

Check against delivery.

 

Thank you John for your kind introduction.

Good morning everyone.

It is a pleasure to be here and a privilege to open your 2016 Access to Information and Privacy Law Symposium.

I have been at the Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada for ten years. During that time, my team and I have completed over 10,000 investigations. As I complete my first marathon as Information Commissioner of Canada, I thought I would use my ten minute sprint to share with you ten ideas. Ten ideas from the past, the present and the future.

Number 1: Access to information rights are a key pillar of our democracy

In Canada, the right of access to information is a quasi-constitutional right. The Supreme Court of Canada has determined that our right of access to information is a derivative right of freedom of expression, protected under subsection 2(b) of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms, “where it is a necessary precondition of meaningful expression on the functioning of government” (Ontario (Public Safety and Security) v. Criminal Lawyers' Association, 2010 SCC 23). This same section of the Charter also protects our freedom of thought, our freedom of belief, and our freedom of opinion.

It is always against this backdrop that we must assess, analyse, exercise and protect our rights of access to public information and our government’s performance in administering these rights.

It is our job at the Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada to protect access to information rights.

In doing so over the years, we have shed light on the situation of Afghan detainees, Indigenous land claims, tax evasion schemes, the life of René Lévesque, the life of Norman Bethune, government procurement, the tragedy in Lac Mégantic, and many many more.

Number 2: Access delayed is access denied

A phrase that you have all heard time and time again – unfortunately. In 2002, Canadians would get a response to their access to information requests within 30 days in 69% of the cases. By 2011, that rate had fallen to 55%. My office, as you know, conducted a series of systemic investigations into delays in response times. Our recommendations to the various institutions were all accepted.

We also brought an application in the Federal Court for the determination that a 1,100 day extension was unreasonable and, as a result, amounted to a refusal of access. As you might remember, we actually lost that case in the first instance (Canada (Information Commissioner) v. Canada (National Defence), 2014 FC 205). We had to take the matter to the Federal Court of Appeal. Last year, the Federal Court of Appeal actually confirmed that an unreasonable extension was tantamount to a refusal of access (Information Commissioner of Canada v. Minister of National Defence), 2015 FCA 56). I am sure that anyone hearing this would think – well, of course – that is simple common sense. Well, that was not the common sense interpretation of these extension provisions for the last 30 years. That decision has changed the parameters of time extensions at the federal level. As of last year, that response time rate was back to 65%. One can only hope that it will continue to improve.

Number 3: My favourite quote

“There is a hint of Lewis Carroll in the position of those who oppose the Information Commissioner:

‘[w]hen I use a word,’ Humpty Dumpty said, in rather a scornful tone, ‘it means just what I choose it to mean – neither more nor less.’

‘The question is,’ said Alice, ‘whether you can make words mean so many different things.’

‘The question is,’ said Humpty Dumpty, ‘which is to be master – that’s all.”

This quote comes from Justice Harrington’s decision in the first reference to the Federal Court on an access to information issue (Information Commissioner of Canada v. Attorney General of Canada, 2015 FC 405).

In this case, the government was essentially arguing that an e-mail was not an electronic record. It was an extremely challenging legal argument!  Certainly not the side one would prefer to be on in any law school moot court exercise!

As a result of that decision the federal government had to stop charging fees for searching and preparing electronic records. Subsequently, the federal government issued an interim directive this spring to eliminate all fees except for the initial 5$ fee.

Number 4: Avoiding access to information: let me count the ways

A few days ago, we learned from media reports that the premier of Nova Scotia was using the phone to conduct government business in order to avoid access to information.

At the federal level, the phone was replaced a few years ago by BlackBerry Personal Identification Numbers (PINs). In 2013, we found that 98,000 BlackBerrys were issued across the government. PINs were widely used across departments. Even though it was possible to store instant messages sent via BlackBerry by actively enabling a function using the BlackBerry Enterprise Server software, only two of the institutions we investigated had taken that step, and only one stored all types of instant messages. In the other nine institutions, the retrieval of such messages in the case of deletion or loss was practically impossible, since they were not stored on a central server.

We made several recommendations, including that instant messaging on all government-issued wireless devices be disabled except where certain conditions were met. This recommendation was not accepted by the government of the time. PINs are still used in the government. According to the government of the time, all records on PINs were inherently transitory. I learned recently that PINs would be replaced by some other technology. I have yet to find out more details.

Number 5: The political temptation

My colleagues from Ontario, BC and Alberta have had their share of investigations related to some form of political interference into the access to information process. Indeed, there seems to be a strong temptation to do so.

In our case, Public Works and Government Services Canada had received a request for information that was contained in a fifteen chapter report on asset management. The access professionals had decided that the entire report should be disclosed. However, after making this decision, they received an email from a member of the Minister’s staff to “unrelease” the report. They actually retrieved the report from the mail room. This investigation was followed by another investigation into the processing of eight access to information or consultation requests received by PWGSC. Several recommendations were made to the department, including that the matters be referred to the RCMP for investigation.

I do believe that behaviours have changed at the federal level as a result of these investigations. I have not been seized with another similar matter since then. Let’s hope it will continue.

Number 6: We are guardians of values

My colleague, the Commissioner of Official Languages often refers to agents of Parliament as guardians of values.

You may recall that the May 2015 budget bill included provisions to erase retroactively the application of the Access to Information Act. It erased all administrative, civil, or criminal liability arising from any action, from any person, under the Act, back to the time when the Ending the Long Gun Registry Act was first tabled in Parliament. This was done at a time when we had referred evidence to the Attorney General of Canada of the possible commission of an offence under the Act. The evidence pointed to the destruction of records in the registry while an access to information request was validly made.

We issued a special report to Parliament, filed an application for judicial review in the Federal Court (Information Commissioner of Canada v. Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness, T-785-15), and initiated a constitutional challenge in the Ontario Superior Court (Information Commissioner of Canada and Bill Clennett v. Attorney General of Canada et al., 15-64739). Meanwhile the Federal Court ordered the production of the remaining records to be sealed and kept at the Federal Court. The Ontario Provincial Police did not investigate because, as they told us, there was no longer a criminal offence to investigate.

These litigation cases are being held in abeyance. Negotiations with the current government point to a resolution in the near future.

The government at the time said that it was merely fixing a loophole. I testified before the parliamentary committee that it was creating a black hole. If you remember Orwell’s 1984, you cannot escape the analogy that the federal government at the time was attempting to erase this history into a Memory Hole of the Records Department of the Ministry of Truth. Except this was not a work of fiction in some dystopic world. This was our Canada in 2015.

I say that we are guardians of values because I could have simply said nothing; our investigation was confidential. It would have been easy, but it would have been wrong.

Number 7: Legislative reform of the Access to Information Act: Just do it

In March 2015, I tabled a special report in which I made 85 recommendations to comprehensively modernize the Access to Information Act

In October 2015, we saw the election of a new federal government that campaigned on a platform of openness and transparency.

Shortly thereafter, the new government released, for the first time at the federal level, the mandate letters of all of the newly-appointed ministers.

The Minister of Justice and the President of the Treasury Board received clear direction from the Prime Minister. They are to review the Access to Information Act to ensure that the application of the Act is extended to ministers’ offices, the administration of Parliament and the courts, and to provide my office with the power to issue orders.

In March 2016, Minister Brison announced that reform of the Act would follow a two-phased process. The first phase would seek to introduce a bill in the winter of 2017 to Parliament consistent with the mandate letters, with a few minor additions. The second phase would begin in 2018 and involve a more comprehensive review.

The House of Commons Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics conducted a comprehensive review of the Act in the spring of 2016 and issued its report in June of this year. I made recommendations to this parliamentary committee on reform for the first phase in order to maximize transparency. These include:

  • a legislated duty to document with appropriate sanctions for non-compliance
  • addressing delays by implementing a series of recommendations focused on introducing discipline into the system
  • repealing all exclusions, and replacing them with exemptions where necessary
  • amending the exemption for advice by adding a reasonable expectation of injury test, and narrowing the scope of its application
  • creating a mandatory exemption for Cabinet confidences when disclosure would reveal the substance of deliberations of Cabinet, and narrowing the scope of its application
  • adding a public interest override to the Act

If we are to achieve meaningful reform of the Access to Information Act, we must go beyond what the government has proposed in its first phase of reform of the Act. If amendments to the Act are limited to just what the government has proposed so far, we will not be able to move forward with an open government agenda, which relies not only on open data and open information, but also open dialogue.

This brings me to number 8.

Number 8: A transparent and open government requires a cohesive and integrated vision with a focus on a change of culture

Overall, the approach to open government requires an integrated vision.

This means that open government must not be limited to just open data; it must also be about open information and open dialogue. It also requires a significant focus on a change of culture within government, otherwise the rays of sunny ways will not pierce through the various institutional levels.

In practice, this means that that government must create records in reusable formats and with disclosure in mind.

Communications policies should be aligned with the government’s open by default vision and implemented so that direct, informal interactions between public servants and citizens and journalists are not only allowed, but encouraged.

And it also means that any changes to the legislative framework must be aligned with the government’s Open Government agenda.

Number 9: The future is now.

Every month or so I have a meeting with my Director of IM/IT. This week he informed me that several departments are potentially moving to cloud computing and that PINs on BlackBerry will be replaced by another technology.

That same day in the evening I attended a seminar organized by the Canadian Committee for World Press Freedom with the President of the Treasury Board, Mr. Brison and Mary Francoli. We discussed the proposals for reform to the Act. We discussed the “first phase” review, then the “in-depth” review in the second phase, the complexity of the reforms and the need for further study in 2018.

Since the Act came into force, there have been 10 parliaments. During this same time period, there have been eleven reviews of the Access to Information Act undertaken by committees of parliamentarians or government, with an additional four government reviews looking at the administration of the Act. Not to mention all of the recommendations made by the various Commissioners over the years. The issues that we are planning to study have been identified as issues with our current regime for the last 30 years.

Meanwhile, millennials are in their 30s. The new generation is using computers and communications tools before they even start school. The speed of new technologies brings new challenges in the application of our access laws. We must catch up and keep pace.

Which brings me to my number 10.

Number 10: The importance of resilience.

We must continue to strive for excellence. Our diligent work and our resilience has led to progress year after year, and it is our continued focus that will ensure results.

We have seen some significant developments in these past few months, but the real reforms have yet to be presented to Parliament.

The real test lies ahead.

Our work has just begun. We need to hold our governments to account and insist that they properly protect our information rights.

Canadians want and deserve more.

Conclusion

In closing, I would like to leave you with a piece of trivia. In the French Revolution Calendar, every month was divided into three ten day weeks. The weeks were called decades.

In all honesty, in the last ten years, some weeks did feel like decades.

At the same time, the last decade has flown by like the wind. This is, in large part, because I have had the extraordinary privilege to work for a cause that is a fundamental pillar of our democracy alongside intelligent, insightful, dedicated, resilient and courageous people, many of whom are here today. 

Many of whom I am lucky to count as friends. 

Thank you.

Association du Barreau canadien
Symposium annuel du droit de la vie privée et de l’accès à l’information

Courte rétrospective

Suzanne Legault, commissaire à l’information du Canada

Ottawa, ON

28 octobre 2016

La version prononcée fait foi.

 

Merci John pour cette belle présentation.

Bonjour à tous et à toutes.

C’est tout un plaisir et un privilège d’être ici pour donner le coup d’envoi à votre symposium 2016 du droit de la vie privée et de l’accès à l’information.

Je suis au Commissariat à l’information du Canada depuis 10 ans. Pendant tout ce temps, mon équipe et moi avons réalisé plus de 10 000 enquêtes. Puisque je termine mon premier marathon en tant que commissaire à l’information du Canada, j’ai cru bon d’utiliser mon sprint de 10 minutes pour vous soumettre 10 idées. Dix idées inspirées du passé, du présent et de l’avenir.

Numéro 1 : Le droit d’accès à l’information est un pilier de notre démocratie

Au Canada, l’accès à l’information est reconnu comme un droit quasi constitutionnel. La Cour suprême du Canada a établi que notre droit d’accès à l’information dérive du droit à la liberté d’expression que protège l’alinéa 2b) de la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés, « lorsqu’il constitue une condition qui doit nécessairement être réalisée pour qu’il soit possible de s’exprimer de manière significative sur le fonctionnement du gouvernement » (Ontario (Sûreté et Sécurité publique) c. Criminal Lawyers' Association, 2010 CSC 23). Cet alinéa de la Charte protège aussi notre liberté de pensée, de croyance et d’opinion.

C’est toujours contre cette toile de fond que nous devons évaluer, analyser, exercer et protéger notre droit d’accès à l’information publique et le rendement du gouvernement au moment d’administrer ce droit.

Au Commissariat à l’information du Canada, notre travail consiste à protéger le droit d’accès à l’information.

Ce faisant, au fil des années, nous avons fait la lumière sur la situation des détenus afghans, les revendications territoriales des Autochtones, les stratagèmes d’évasion fiscale, la vie de René Lévesque, la vie de Norman Bethune, les approvisionnements au sein du gouvernement, la tragédie de Lac-Mégantic et bien d’autres dossiers encore.

Numéro 2 : Un accès retardé est un accès refusé

Voilà une phrase que vous avez tous maintes fois entendue, malheureusement. En 2002, les Canadiens recevaient une réponse à leurs demandes d’accès à l’information en l’espace de 30 jours dans 69 % des cas. En 2011, cette proportion était tombée à 55 %. Comme vous le savez, le Commissariat a réalisé une série d’examens systémiques sur les retards dans le traitement des demandes. Toutes les recommandations que nous avons faites aux diverses institutions ont été acceptées.

Nous avons aussi demandé à la Cour fédérale de rendre une décision, selon laquelle une prorogation de délai de 1 100 jours est déraisonnable et, par conséquent, équivaut à un refus d’accès. Comme vous vous en souviendrez peut-être, nous avons perdu cette cause en première instance (Canada (Commissaire à l’information) c. Canada (Défense nationale), 2014 CF 205), et avons dû nous tourner vers la Cour d’appel fédérale. L’an dernier, la Cour d’appel fédérale a confirmé qu’une prorogation déraisonnable équivaut à un refus d’accès (Commissaire à l’information du Canada c. Ministre de la Défense nationale, 2015 CAF 56). Je suis certaine que bien des gens vont se dire : « Mais, bien sûr, c’est une question de gros bon sens. » À vrai dire, ça n’a pas été l’interprétation logique de ces dispositions de prorogation au cours des 30 dernières années. Cette décision a modifié les critères de prorogation au sein de l’appareil fédéral. Depuis l’an dernier, le temps de réponse est revenu à des proportions de 65 %. Il est à souhaiter que ce chiffre continuera d’augmenter.

Numéro 3 : Ma citation favorite

« Il y a un peu de Lewis Carroll dans la position de ceux qui s’opposent à la commissaire à l’information :

Quand j’emploie un mot, dit Humpty Dumpty avec un certain mépris, il signifie ce que je veux qu’il signifie, ni plus ni moins.

La question est de savoir, dit Alice, si vous pouvez faire que les mots signifient tant de choses différentes.

La question est de savoir, dit Humpty Dumpty, qui est le maître – c’est tout. »

Cette citation est tirée de la décision rendue par le juge Harrington par suite du premier renvoi à la Cour fédérale sur une question d’accès à l’information (Commissaire à l’information du Canada c. Procureur général du Canada, 2015 CF 405).

Dans cette affaire, le gouvernement soutenait essentiellement qu’un courriel n’était pas un dossier électronique. Cet argument juridique était extrêmement complexe! Ce n’est assurément pas une position qu’un étudiant en droit aimerait défendre au cours d’un exercice de plaidoirie!

Cette décision appelait le gouvernement fédéral à cesser de percevoir des frais pour la recherche et la préparation des dossiers électroniques. Au printemps dernier, il a publié une directive intérimaire, dans le but d’éliminer tous les frais autres que les 5 $ initialement exigés.

Numéro 4 : Contourner l’accès à l’information : laissez-moi compter les façons de faire

Il y a quelques jours, des reportages nous ont appris que le premier ministre de la Nouvelle-Écosse menait des activités gouvernementales par téléphone, afin de contourner l’accès à l’information.

Il y a quelques années, au gouvernement fédéral, les numéros d’identification personnels (NIP) de BlackBerry ont remplacé le téléphone. En 2013, nous avons découvert que 98 000 appareils BlackBerry étaient en circulation au sein du gouvernement. Les ministères se servaient abondamment des NIP. Même s’il était possible de conserver les messages instantanés envoyés par BlackBerry en activant une fonction du logiciel BlackBerry Enterprise Server, seulement deux des institutions que nous avons examinées avaient pris cette mesure, et une seule emmagasinait tous les types de messages instantanés. Dans les neuf autres institutions, il était pratiquement impossible de récupérer de tels messages détruits ou perdus, car ils n’étaient conservés dans aucun serveur central.

Nous avons fait plusieurs recommandations, notamment la désactivation de la messagerie instantanée sur tous les appareils sans fil du gouvernement, sauf dans certaines conditions. Le gouvernement de l’époque a rejeté cette recommandation, et les NIP sont toujours utilisés à l’échelle gouvernementale. Selon le gouvernement de l’époque, tous les dossiers associés aux NIP étaient éphémères de nature. J’ai récemment appris que les NIP seraient remplacés par une autre technologie, dont je ne connais pas encore les détails.

Numéro 5 : La tentation politique

Mes collègues de l’Ontario, de la Colombie-Britannique et de l’Alberta ont mené leur lot d’enquêtes sur des formes d’ingérence politique dans le processus d’accès à l’information. En effet, il semble que la tentation soit forte.

En ce qui nous concerne, Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada avait reçu une demande d’accès à de l’information contenue dans un rapport en quinze chapitres sur la gestion de l’actif. Les professionnels de l’accès avaient décidé que tout le rapport devait être divulgué. Après avoir pris cette décision, par contre, ils ont reçu un courriel d’un membre du personnel de la ministre demandant « de ne pas le divulguer ». Le rapport a été retiré de la salle du courrier. L’enquête a été suivie d’une autre enquête sur le traitement de huit demandes d’accès à l’information ou de consultation transmises à TPSGC. Plusieurs recommandations ont été soumises au Ministère, y compris le renvoi des dossiers à la GRC pour enquête.

Je crois que les attitudes ont changé au gouvernement fédéral grâce à ces enquêtes. Depuis, je n’ai été saisie d’aucune autre affaire semblable. Espérons que ça continue.

Numéro 6 : Nous sommes les protecteurs de nos valeurs

Mon collègue, le commissaire aux langues officielles, qualifie souvent les agents du Parlement de protecteurs de nos valeurs.

Vous vous souviendrez peut-être que la loi d’exécution du budget de mai 2015 comportait des dispositions visant à effacer rétroactivement l’application de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Elle a annulé toute responsabilité administrative, civile ou criminelle découlant de toute action, de toute personne, en vertu de la Loi, à partir du premier dépôt de la Loi sur l’abolition du registre des armes d’épaule au Parlement. À cette époque, nous avions transmis au procureur général du Canada des éléments de preuve d’une possible infraction à la Loi. La preuve faisait état de la destruction de documents du Registre, alors qu’une demande d’accès à l’information avait été présentée en bonne et due forme.

Nous avions publié un Rapport spécial au Parlement, déposé une demande de contrôle judiciaire à la Cour fédérale (Commissaire à l’information du Canada c. Ministre de la Sécurité publique et de la Protection civile, T-785-15) et intenté une contestation constitutionnelle à la Cour supérieure de l’Ontario (Commissaire à l’information du Canada et Bill Clennett c. Procureur général du Canada et al., 15-64739). Entre-temps, la Cour fédérale a ordonné que la production des documents restants soit mise sous scellé et conservée à la Cour fédérale. La Police provinciale de l’Ontario n’a pas fait enquête parce que, selon ce qu’on nous a dit, il n’y avait plus d’infraction criminelle à enquêter.

Ces litiges sont en suspens. Des négociations avec le gouvernement actuel laissent entrevoir un règlement dans un proche avenir.

Le gouvernement de l’époque avait affirmé que cela ne faisait que colmater une brèche. J’ai signalé au comité parlementaire que cette mesure créait plutôt un trou noir. Ceux qui se rappellent le roman publié par George Orwell en 1984 ne pourront s’empêcher de faire une analogie avec le gouvernement fédéral de l’époque, qui tentait de faire passer cette histoire dans les trous de mémoire de la division des archives du ministère de la Vérité. Sauf que ce n’était pas une fiction sortie d’un monde utopique. C’était le Canada de 2015.

Je dis que nous protégeons nos valeurs parce que j’aurais tout simplement pu ne rien dire; notre enquête était confidentielle. Ç’aurait été facile, mais incorrect.

Numéro 7 : Réforme législative de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information : Passez à l’action

En mars 2015, j’ai déposé un rapport spécial dans lequel je faisais 85 recommandations en vue d’opérer une modernisation complète de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

En octobre 2015, un nouveau gouvernement fédéral, dont la plateforme était axée sur l’ouverture et la transparence, a été élu.

Peu après, le nouveau gouvernement a publié, pour la première fois à l’échelle fédérale, les lettres de mandat de tous les nouveaux ministres.

La ministre de la Justice et le président du Conseil du Trésor ont reçu des directives claires du premier ministre. Ils doivent revoir la Loi sur l’accès à l’information de sorte que son application vise aussi les cabinets des ministres, l’administration du Parlement et les tribunaux, et conférer au Commissariat le pouvoir d’émettre des ordonnances.

En mars 2016, le ministre Brison a annoncé que la réforme de la Loi se déroulerait en deux étapes. La première étape consisterait à déposer un projet de loi à l’hiver 2017 auprès du Parlement, conformément aux lettres de mandat, en y faisant quelques ajouts mineurs. La deuxième étape débuterait en 2018 et comporterait un examen plus complet.

Le Comité permanent de l’accès à l’information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l’éthique de la Chambre des communes a procédé à un examen complet de la Loi au printemps 2016, et il a produit son rapport en juin dernier. J’ai adressé des recommandations à ce comité parlementaire sur la première étape de la réforme, afin d’en optimiser la transparence. Voici ces recommandations :

  • imposer une obligation légale de documenter, assortie de sanctions adéquates en cas de non-respect;
  • régler les problèmes de retards en appliquant une série de recommandations visant à instaurer une certaine discipline au sein du système;
  • abroger toutes les exclusions et les remplacer par des exceptions, le cas échéant;
  • inclure à l’exception s’appliquant aux avis un critère relatif au risque vraisemblable de préjudice, et en restreindre la portée;
  • créer une exception obligatoire visant les documents confidentiels du Cabinet, lorsque la divulgation révélerait la teneur des délibérations du Cabinet, et en restreindre l’application;
  • inclure dans la Loi une disposition de primauté de l’intérêt du public.

Pour réussir la réforme de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, nous devons aller au-delà de ce que le gouvernement a proposé à la première étape de cette réforme. Si les modifications apportées à la Loi se limitent à ce que le gouvernement a proposé jusqu’ici, nous ne serons pas en mesure d’exécuter le programme de transparence du gouvernement, lequel mise non seulement sur des données et de l’information ouvertes, mais aussi sur un dialogue ouvert.

Voilà qui m’amène au numéro 8.

Numéro 8 : Un gouvernement ouvert et transparent doit se doter d’une vision cohésive et intégrée qui met l’accent sur un changement de culture

De manière générale, l’approche du gouvernement ouvert exige une vision intégrée.

C’est dire que le gouvernement ouvert ne doit pas se résumer uniquement à des données ouvertes; il doit aussi reposer sur de l’information ouverte et un dialogue ouvert. De plus, il doit accorder une grande importance au changement de culture au sein du gouvernement, sans quoi les méthodes fructueuses n’arriveront pas à gagner tous les niveaux institutionnels.

En pratique, cela signifie que le gouvernement doit créer des dossiers réutilisables en ayant la divulgation à l’esprit.

Les politiques de communication devraient concorder avec la vision ouverte par défaut du gouvernement, et non seulement permettre, mais aussi encourager les échanges directs et officieux entre les fonctionnaires et les citoyens et journalistes.

Cela veut également dire que toute modification du cadre législatif doit s’harmoniser au programme de transparence du gouvernement du Canada.

Numéro 9 : L’avenir se décide maintenant

Environ une fois par mois, je rencontre mon directeur de la GI-TI. Cette semaine, il m’a informée que plusieurs ministères s’apprêtaient peut-être à adopter l’informatique en nuage et que les NIP de BlackBerry seront remplacés par une autre technologie.

Le même jour, en soirée, j’ai pris part à un séminaire organisé par le Comité canadien pour la liberté de la presse mondiale, en compagnie du ministre Brison et de Mary Francoli. Nous avons discuté des propositions en vue de réformer la Loi. Nous avons parlé de l’examen de la « première étape », puis de l’examen « en profondeur » de la deuxième étape, de la complexité des réformes et du besoin de pousser l’étude en 2018.

Depuis l’entrée en vigueur de la Loi, il y a eu 10 législatures. Au cours de la même période, la Loi sur l’accès à l’information a fait l’objet de 11 examens réalisés par des comités formés d’agents du Parlement ou du gouvernement, et 4 autres examens menés par le gouvernement ont porté sur l’administration de la Loi. Et c’est sans mentionner toutes les recommandations formulées par les divers commissaires au fil des ans. Les problèmes que nous nous proposons d’étudier sont reconnus depuis 30 ans.

Entre-temps, les enfants du millénaire ont franchi la trentaine. La nouvelle génération utilise des ordinateurs et des outils de communication avant même d’être en âge de fréquenter l’école. La rapidité des nouvelles technologies soulève de nouvelles difficultés au titre de l’application de nos lois sur l’accès à l’information. Nous devons presser le pas pour arriver à suivre le rythme.

Je suis maintenant rendue au numéro 10.

Numéro 10 : L’importance de la résilience

Nous devons continuer de viser l’excellence. D’une année à l’autre, notre diligence et notre résilience nous font progresser, et notre constante détermination portera ses fruits.

Nous observons d’importantes avancées depuis quelques mois, mais les réformes véritables n’ont pas encore été présentées au Parlement.

Le véritable test reste à venir.

Notre travail ne fait que commencer. Nous devons tenir nos gouvernements responsables et insister pour qu’ils protègent convenablement notre droit d’accès à l’information.

Les Canadiens veulent plus, et ils le méritent.

Conclusion

En terminant, j’aimerais faire une allégorie. Dans le calendrier de la Révolution française, tous les mois étaient divisés en trois semaines de dix jours. Les semaines étaient appelées décades.

Pour dire vrai, certaines semaines des 10 dernières années m’ont semblé des décades.

En même temps, la dernière décennie est passée en coup de vent. Cela s’explique en grande partie par le fait que j’ai eu l’extraordinaire privilège de travailler à une cause qui constitue un pilier essentiel à notre démocratie, en côtoyant des gens intelligents, perspicaces, dévoués, résilients et courageux, qui sont ici en grand nombre aujourd’hui.

J’ai la chance de compter un bon nombre de ces personnes parmi mes amis.

Merci.