Remarks by the Information Commissioner of Canada

Standing Committee on Public Safety and National Security
on Bill C-22 An Act to establish the National Security and Intelligence Committee of Parliamentarians and to make consequential amendments to certain Acts

November 24, 2016

Check against delivery

Introduction

Good afternoon honorable members. Thank you for inviting me to appear during your study of Bill C-22. I am here today with Nadine Gendron, Legal Counsel.

First, I wish to commend the government on tabling legislation to create a parliamentary oversight body of our national security agencies. The recommendation to create such an oversight committee dates back many years. The Committee could, with a properly designed legal framework, do much to increase public trust in our national security agencies.

However, I do have some concerns with the Bill. These concerns are based on my own experience in an oversight role as the Information Commissioner of Canada.

My comments today will be directed first to the review function of the proposed Committee and second to the application of the Access to Information Act to the newly created Secretariat that will support the Committee.

Review function of the Committee

With respect to the review function of the Committee, I have concerns with the following six areas:

  1. The ministerial override of the Committee’s review function
  2. The Committee’s ability to obtain information
  3. The timeframes to provide information to the Committee
  4. The private nature of the Committee’s meetings
  5. The limitations placed on other review bodies when collaborating with the Committee and
  6. The final nature of decisions made by ministers.

1. The ministerial override of the Committee’s review function

The Committee will have a broad mandate to review matters related to national security and intelligence. A broad mandate is important as it will allow the Committee to direct its inquiries as it sees fit.

However, clause 8(b) of the Bill undercuts this mandate by providing that the Minister of a department may override a review where the Minister determines it would be injurious to national security.

This override essentially turns the Committee’s broad mandate into a mirage. It will undermine any goodwill and public trust that may have built up towards the Committee, and by extension, the national security agencies it oversees.

2. The Committee’s ability to obtain information

My next area of concern with Bill C-22 is the exclusions to the Committee’s right to obtain information. These are found at clauses 14 and 16 of the Bill.

I can tell you, based on my seven years’ experience as Information Commissioner, that exclusions to oversight undermine the review function.

Under the Access to Information Act, but for a few exclusions, I have access to all records during my investigations so that I may independently review decisions on disclosure.

The notable exception to my review power is Cabinet confidences. Cabinet confidences are excluded from the application of the Access to Information Act. This means that when I investigate a complaint about Cabinet confidences, I cannot require that those records be provided to my office. I cannot independently assess whether they are in fact Cabinet confidences and therefore not subject to the right of access. This severely curtails my ability to provide effective oversight of this exclusion.

I still investigate complaints about Cabinet confidences to the best of my abilities. In fact, in 2015-2016, I was able to conclude that 12% of complaints closed that year about the Cabinet confidences exclusion were well founded, even without being able to see those records. Imagine what I might be able to conclude if I could see the records.

Based on this experience, I am of the view that the Committee will face difficulties in fulfilling its mandate if it cannot obtain relevant records.

In contrast to the Committee, as the Information Commissioner of Canada, I have the authority to review records related to national security and intelligence. There is, in fact, a large discrepancy between the records that I can see and what the Committee will be able to see. I have prepared a chart setting out those differences.

Based on my experience viewing these records, there is a tendency for institutions to interpret exemptions in an over-broad manner.

To give you a sense of how exemptions to disclosure related to national security and intelligence can be over-applied, let me give you a few examples.

In my first example, CSEC was asked to release in graph form information about its Support to Lawful Access program. Specifically, the requester wanted to know the number of requests CSEC had received to provide technical and operational assistance to federal law enforcement and security agencies, and whether it had accepted or rejected those requests. It initially refused this request, citing the national defence exemption. Eventually, I was able to convince CSEC that releasing aggregate totals and categorical information would not result in injury to national defence.

In my second example, CSIS used the exemption for national defence to withhold from disclosure the amount it had contributed to a conference at Université Laval and the annual budget of its Academic Outreach program. In my investigation, I found that CSIS’s involvement in the event was publicly known – its logo had appeared on the conference program, which was posted on the Internet. I also determined that CSIS had not demonstrated that releasing this information would harm national defence. Eventually, CSIS agreed to release the amount of its contribution to the conference, but it continues to withhold its Academic Outreach budget figures.

My final concern related to the exclusions at clauses 14 and 16 is that they include no explicit consideration of the public’s interest in providing the Committee with this information. This would require that the Minister balance the public interest against the national security interest when deciding whether to disclose the information to the Committee.

3. The timeframes to provide information to the Committee

My third area of concern with the Bill is found at clause 15(3). This provision states that after the appropriate Minister receives a request for information, he or she must provide or cause the information to be provided to the Committee “in a timely manner.”

Similar language to this is used in the Access to Information Act, which provides that extensions in responding to access requests may be taken for a “reasonable period of time”.

I have found language like this to be vague and open to abuse. In the access world, delay is a frequent subject of complaint by requesters. Where timeliness is at issue without resolution, requesters and I can seek redress from the Federal Court. Under Bill C-22, there is no such dispute resolution mechanism.    

4. The private nature of the Committee’s meetings

My fourth concern with the Bill relates to the private nature of the Committee’s meetings. Clause 18 provides that the Committee’s meetings are to be private “if any information that a department is taking measures to protect is likely to be disclosed during the course of the meeting or if the Chair considers it to be otherwise necessary.”

This strikes me as an unclear threshold for the Committee to go in camera and could easily result in nearly all of these meetings being private. This does not bode well for transparency.

5. The limitations placed on other review bodies when collaborating with the Committee

I next wish to discuss clause 22 of the Bill. This clause provides that the review bodies of the RCMP, CSIS and CSEC may provide information under their control to the Committee related to the fulfilment of its mandate. In fact, these bodies are directed to cooperate with the Committee at clause 9 of the Bill.

However, this direction to cooperate and share information is weakened by clause 22(2) of the Bill. This clause prevents the review bodies from sharing with the Committee all the information listed in the mandatory exclusions at clause 14. It also prevents the review bodies from sharing information that a Minister had decided to withhold from the Committee, per clause 16.

I have already voiced my concerns with clauses 14 and 16. It is my view that clause 22 compounds those issues, and will prevent the review bodies from cooperating in a meaningful way with the Committee.

6. The final nature of decisions made by ministers

The sixth area of concern I have with this Bill is the final nature of decisions made by ministers. The Bill prohibits the Committee from seeking judicial review of a Minister’s decision. This can be found at clause 31 of the Bill.

I have concerns that giving the Minister final decision making authority could lead to overly-broad interpretations of the law that favour non-disclosure to the Committee.

Application of the Access to Information Act to the Secretariat

I am also concerned with how the Access to Information Act will apply to the Secretariat of the Committee. Bill C-22 proposes to extend coverage of the Act to this institution, which is designated with assisting the Committee in fulfilling its mandate.

The purpose of the Access to Information Act is to provide a right of access to all records under the control of institutions that are subject to the Act, subject to limited and specific exceptions. Balancing the right of access against claims to protect certain information is at the core of the access to information regime.

Extending coverage of the Access to Information Act to the Secretariat is a positive aspect of Bill C-22 in ensuring transparency and accountability of this institution.

However, it is not clear to me how much information requesters will actually be able to obtain from this institution. Bill C-22, at clause 35, adds an exemption to the Access to Information Act that is, in my view, overly broad and could result in the Secretariat having only the veneer of transparency.

The Bill proposes to exempt from the right of access any record that contains information created or obtained by the Secretariat or on its behalf in the course of assisting the Committee in fulfilling its mandate. This is a mandatory exemption, which means that once the Secretariat has determined that the exemption applies, it is under a legal obligation to refuse access.

My issue with the breadth of this exemption is three-fold.

First, the proposed exemption is mandatory. Discretionary exemptions are preferable because they allow for a balancing of factors, including the public interest in disclosure.

Second, it applies to any record that contains the protected information. When language like this is used in an exemption, it means that once it has been determined that a record contains protected information, the entire record is protected. This is the case even if only a small portion of the record actually contains information that legitimately requires protection. This essentially nullifies an institution’s otherwise mandatory obligation to sever and disclose non-protected parts of a record.

Third, the exemption applies to any information obtained or created in the course of assisting the Committee in fulfilling its mandate. This begs the question: what is considered “assisting the Committee in fulfilling its mandate”? Does it encompass assistance of a more administrative, technological or financial nature?

In my view, the exemption as currently drafted goes beyond protecting national security.

Solutions

I have raised several concerns about Bill C-22 that I believe will impede the Committee in carrying out its mandate.

Fortunately, I also believe that there are relatively simple solutions to address these concerns.

First, there should be no ministerial override of the Committee’s review function.

Second, the Committee should have robust access to records, with no limitations. This is necessary in order for the Committee to properly fulfill its mandate.

I do not recommend giving the Committee broad access to national security and intelligence information lightly. I am acutely aware of the security risks posed in sharing information like this. However, I would point out that at my office, we are entitled to review records of all security classification, up to and including records that relate to signals intelligence. For all investigation files, security measures are put in place to meet the security classification of the records. In the thirty plus years my office has seen these records, we have never had a security breach. It is my belief that similar security measures could be put in place for the National Security and Intelligence Committee and its Secretariat. It is important to understand that giving access to information to the Committee does not mean disclosure of the information to the public.

In the event that limitations on the Committee’s access to information are determined to be necessary, then I recommend that a public interest override be added. This way, Ministers will be required to determine if non-disclosure to the Committee is necessary and proportionate as compared to the public interest in having the Committee review the information, bearing in mind the accountability function the Committee plays.

Third, there should be a precise number of days to provide information to the Committee. In my experience, thirty days is generally sufficient time. Extensions should be available, but only with the permission of the Committee.

Fourth, it should be clearly stated in the Bill that the Committee’s meetings will be public by default. Meetings should only go in camera where a clear threshold is met, such as where disclosure of the information during a public meeting would be “injurious to national security”, and only for the length of time necessary to prevent injury.

Fifth, there should be no limitations placed on other review bodies when collaborating and sharing information with the Committee.

Sixth, decisions made by ministers should be reviewable by the Federal Court.

Hand in hand with this recommendation, I would also recommend that if it is determined that some exclusions to the Committee’s access to information are necessary, any disputes about the application of exclusions should be subject to judicial review. This will limit over-claiming of exclusions.

Finally, the exemption under the Access to Information Act for the Secretariat should be discretionary and focused on protecting only the information that is subject to the review function of the Committee. I also recommend that the exemption only protect information, and not “any” record that contains such protected information. This will result in meaningful access to the Secretariat.

Conclusion

Events such as the recent Federal Court decision regarding CSIS’s retention of Canadians’ metadata, the revelation that Quebec’s provincial police have been spying on journalists and the Snowden affair have eroded the public’s trust in its security and intelligence agencies.

The work of the Committee will be a key pillar in regaining that trust and increasing the accountability framework of our national security agencies.

However, if we want the Committee to be successful, it must function under an appropriate legal framework. At present, Bill C-22 does not strike the right balance between protecting the national security interest, and transparency and accountability. In its current form, the Committee will not be able to achieve its goal.

In closing, I would like to thank this committee for the opportunity to present my views on Bill C-22. I would be pleased to answer any questions you might have.

Thank you, Mr. Chair.

Remarques de la commissaire à l’information du Canada

Comité permanent de la sécurité publique et nationale au sujet du projet de loi C-22, Loi constituant le Comité des parlementaires sur la sécurité nationale et le renseignement et modifiant certaines lois en conséquence

Le 24 novembre 2016

L'allocution prononcée fait foi

Introduction

Bonjour, honorables députés. Je vous remercie de m’avoir invité à comparaître devant vous pour discuter du projet de loi C-22. Je suis accompagnée de Nadine Gendron, conseillère juridique.

Je tiens tout d’abord à féliciter le gouvernement d’avoir déposé ce projet de loi visant à créer un organisme de surveillance parlementaire de nos organismes de sécurité nationale. La recommandation de créer ce genre de comité de surveillance date de nombreuses années. Et ce comité permettra, si son cadre juridique est adéquat, d’accroître la confiance du public envers nos organismes de sécurité nationale.

J’ai toutefois certaines préoccupations concernant ce projet de loi. Ces préoccupations sont fondées sur ma propre expérience en matière de surveillance en tant que commissaire à l’information du Canada.

Les commentaires que je formulerai aujourd’hui porteront tout d’abord sur la fonction d’examen du Comité et, deuxièmement, sur l’application de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information au Secrétariat nouvellement créé dont le mandat consistera à appuyer le Comité.

Fonction d’examen du Comité

En ce qui concerne la fonction d’examen du Comité, j’ai des préoccupations concernant les six points suivants :

  1. Le pouvoir permettant aux ministres d’écarter la fonction d’examen du Comité;
  2. La capacité du Comité à obtenir de l’information;
  3. Les échéanciers pour fournir l’information au Comité;
  4. La nature confidentielle des réunions du Comité;
  5. Les restrictions imposées à d’autres organismes de surveillance lorsqu’ils collaborent avec le Comité; et
  6. La nature définitive des décisions prises par les ministres.

1. Le pouvoir permettant aux ministres d’écarter la fonction d’examen du Comité

Le Comité sera investi d’un vaste mandat visant à examiner les questions liées à la sécurité nationale et au renseignement. Un vaste mandat est important, puisqu’il permettra au Comité d’effectuer ses enquêtes comme bon lui semble.

Toutefois, l’article 8(b) du projet de loi réduit la portée de ce mandat, car il prévoit qu’un ministre peut mettre fin à un examen lorsque celui-ci détermine qu’il porterait atteinte à la sécurité nationale.

Ce pouvoir sert essentiellement à transformer le vaste mandat du Comité en mirage. Il minera la bonne volonté et la confiance du public qui peuvent s’être développées envers le Comité et, par surcroît, les organismes de sécurité nationale qu’il supervise.

2. La capacité du Comité à obtenir de l’information

Mon prochain sujet de préoccupation concernant le projet de loi C-22 concerne les exclusions relatives au droit du Comité à obtenir de l’information. Elles figurent aux articles 14 et 16 du projet de loi.

À mon avis, fondé sur sept années d’expérience en tant que commissaire à l’information, les exclusions relatives à la surveillance compromettent la fonction d’examen.

En vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, sauf pour quelques exclusions, dans le cadre de mes enquêtes, j’ai accès à tous les documents, ce qui me permet d’examiner les décisions en matière de divulgation.

Les documents confidentiels du Cabinet sont l’exception majeure à mon pouvoir d’examen. Les documents confidentiels du Cabinet sont exclus de l’application de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Ainsi, lorsque je fais enquête au sujet d’une plainte relative à ces documents, je ne peux pas demander qu’ils soient fournis à mon bureau. Je ne peux pas déterminer de façon indépendante s’il s’agit réellement de documents confidentiels du Cabinet et, par conséquent, s’ils sont sujets au droit d’accès. Cela restreint véritablement ma capacité à surveiller de manière efficace cette exclusion.

Je mène toujours des enquêtes au sujet des plaintes relatives à des documents confidentiels du Cabinet au meilleur de mes capacités. En fait, en 2015-2016, j’ai été en mesure de conclure que 12 % des plaintes réglées au sujet de l’exclusion concernant des documents confidentiels du Cabinet étaient bien fondées, sans même être en mesure de voir les documents. Imaginez ce que je serais en mesure de conclure si je pouvais voir les documents.

En me fondant sur cette expérience, j’estime que le Comité aura de la difficulté à mener à bien son mandat s’il ne peut obtenir les documents pertinents.

Contrairement au Comité, j’ai le pouvoir, en tant que commissaire à l’information du Canada, d’examiner les documents relatifs à la sécurité nationale et au renseignement. En fait, il existe un écart considérable entre les documents que je peux consulter et ceux que le Comité sera en mesure de consulter. J’ai préparé un tableau énonçant ces différences.

Selon mon expérience relative à la consultation de ces documents, les organismes ont tendance à interpréter les exceptions de façon trop large.

Permettez-moi de vous présenter quelques exemples pour vous donner une idée de la façon dont les exceptions en matière de divulgation liées à la sécurité nationale et au renseignement peuvent être appliquées de façon trop large.

Dans mon premier exemple, on a demandé au CSTC de divulguer de l’information sous forme graphique sur son Programme de soutien à l’accès légal. Le demandeur voulait savoir de façon explicite combien de demandes de soutien technique et opérationnel le CSTC avait reçues de la part des organismes fédéraux d’application de la loi et de sécurité et s’il avait accepté ou rejeté ces demandes. Il a d’abord refusé de répondre à cette question en faisant valoir l’exception applicable à la défense nationale. Par la suite, j’ai été en mesure de convaincre le CSTC que la divulgation de totaux cumulatifs et d’information par catégorie ne porterait pas atteinte à la défense nationale.

Dans mon deuxième exemple, le SCRS a utilisé l’exception concernant l’information sur la sécurité nationale pour éviter de divulguer l’information relative à sa contribution dans le cadre d’une conférence qui a eu lieu à l’Université Laval et le budget annuel de son programme de liaison-recherche. Dans le cadre de mon enquête, j’ai constaté que la participation du SCRS à l’événement était connue publiquement; son logo figurait sur le programme de la conférence qui avait été publié sur Internet. J’ai également déterminé que le SCRS n’avait pas démontré que la divulgation de cette information porterait atteinte à la défense nationale. Le SCRS a accepté par la suite de divulguer le montant de sa contribution dans le cadre de la conférence, mais il a continué à refuser de divulguer les chiffres du budget consacré à son programme de liaison-recherche.

Ma dernière préoccupation liée aux exclusions énumérées aux articles14 et 16 est le fait qu’elles n’incluent aucune considération explicite de l’intérêt du public de fournir cette information au Comité. Le ministre devrait alors concilier l’intérêt public avec l’intérêt relatif à la sécurité nationale pour décider si l’information devrait être divulguée au Comité.

3. Les échéanciers pour fournir l’information au Comité

Ma troisième préoccupation concernant le projet de loi est liée à l’article 15(3) qui prévoit qu’une fois que le ministre concerné a reçu une demande d’information, il doit fournir l’information ou faire en sorte qu’elle soit fournie au Comité « en temps opportun ».

Un libellé similaire est utilisé dans la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, laquelle prévoit que les délais de réponse aux demandes d’accès à l’information peuvent être prorogés pour « une période que justifient les circonstances ».

J’ai estimé que ce libellé était vague et susceptible de donner lieu à des abus. Dans le contexte de l’accès à l’information, le délai fait souvent l’objet de plaintes de la part des demandeurs. Si le problème relatif à la rapidité de l’accès à l’information ne peut être résolu, les demandeurs et moi-même pouvons demander réparation à la Cour fédérale. Le projet de loi C-22 ne prévoit aucun mécanisme de résolution des différends.    

4. La nature confidentielle des réunions du Comité

Ma quatrième préoccupation concernant le projet de loi est liée à la nature confidentielle des réunions du Comité. L’article 18 prévoit que les réunions du Comité sont tenues à huis clos « lorsque des renseignements à l’égard desquels un ministère prend des mesures de protection y seront probablement révélés ou lorsque le président l’estime autrement nécessaire ».

Cela m’apparaît comme un seuil ambigu pour le Comité de tenir ses réunions à huis closet pourrait facilement faire en sorte que la presque totalité des réunions est tenue à huis clos. Cela n’augure rien de bon pour la transparence.

5. Les restrictions imposées à d’autres organismes de surveillance lorsqu’ils collaborent avec le Comité

Je veux maintenant discuter de l’article 22 du projet de loi. Il prévoit que les organismes de surveillance de la GRC, du SCRS et du CSTC peuvent fournir au Comité des renseignements qu’ils détiennent si ceux-ci sont liés à l’exercice de son mandat. En fait, ces organismes sont tenus de collaborer avec le Comité, conformément à l’article 9 du projet de loi.

Toutefois, cette obligation de collaborer et d’échanger des renseignements est affaiblie par l’article 22(2) du projet de loi. Cet article empêche les organismes de surveillance de divulguer au Comité les renseignements qui figurent dans les exclusions obligatoires énoncées à l’article 14. Elle empêche également les organismes de surveillance de communiquer les renseignements qu’un ministre a décidé de ne pas divulguer au Comité, conformément à l’article 16.

J’ai déjà exprimé mes préoccupations concernant les articles 14 et 16. À mon avis, l’article 22 accentue ces problèmes et empêchera les organismes de surveillance de collaborer de façon concrète avec le Comité.

6. La nature définitive des décisions prises par les ministres

Mon sixième sujet de préoccupation concernant ce projet de loi est la nature définitive des décisions prises par les ministres. L’article 31 du projet de loi interdit au Comité de demander le contrôle judiciaire d’une décision du ministre.

Je m’inquiète du fait que le pouvoir conféré au ministre en matière de décision définitive pourrait mener à des interprétations trop larges de la loi, ce qui favoriserait la non-divulgation de renseignements au Comité.

Application de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information à l’égard du Secrétariat

Je suis aussi préoccupée en ce qui concerne l’application de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information à l’endroit du Secrétariat du Comité. Le projet de loi C-22 propose d’étendre le champ d’application de la Loi au Secrétariat, dont la raison d’être est d’aider le Comité à s’acquitter de son mandat.

L’objectif de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information est d’octroyer un droit d’accès aux documents sous le contrôle des institutions fédérales, sous réserve d’exceptions précises et limitées. Assurer l’équilibre entre le droit d’accès à l’information et les demandes de protection de certains renseignements est la pierre d’assise du régime d’accès à l’information.

L’élargissement du champ d’application de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information pour y inclure le Secrétariat est un aspect positif du projet de loi C-22 qui garantit à la fois la transparence et la responsabilisation de cette organisation.

Or, à mon avis, une source de préoccupation demeure à savoir si les demandeurs d’accès à l’information réussiront réellement à obtenir de l’information auprès du Secrétariat. De fait, l’article 35 du projet de loi C-22 ajoute une exception à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information qui, à mon sens, laisse place à une interprétation beaucoup trop large, si bien que le Secrétariat ne serait transparent qu’en apparence seulement.

Plus précisément, le projet de loi propose de soustraire au droit d’accès à l’information les documents qui contiennent des renseignements qui ont été créés ou obtenus par le Secrétariat ou pour son compte dans le cadre du soutien qu’il apporte au Comité. Puisqu’il s’agit d’une exception obligatoire, chaque fois que l’exception s’applique, le Secrétariat serait légalement tenu de refuser accès.

Selon moi, l’étendue de cette exception pose trois problèmes.

Premièrement, l’exception proposée est de nature obligatoire. Les exceptions discrétionnaires sont préférables puisque qu’elles permettent de tenir compte de différents facteurs, notamment l’intérêt public dans la communication des renseignements.

Deuxièmement, cette exception s’applique à tout dossier contenant des renseignements protégés. Le libellé utilisé pour définir cette exception fait en sorte que sitôt que l’on constate qu’un dossier contient des renseignements protégés, ce dossier doit alors être protégé dans son intégralité. Cet article s’applique, même si ce n’est qu’une petite portion du dossier qui contient des renseignements nécessitant véritablement une protection. L’article aurait donc pour effet d’annuler l’obligation du Secrétariat de prélever et de divulguer le contenu non protégé d’un dossier.

Troisièmement, l’exception s’applique aux documents qui contiennent des renseignements qui ont été créés ou obtenus dans le cadre du soutien que le Secrétariat apporte au Comité dans l’exercice de son mandat. D’où la question de savoir ce que constitue exactement un « soutien au Comité dans l’exercice de son mandat ». Cela englobe-t-il le soutien de nature administrative, technologique ou financière?

À mon avis, le libellé de cette exception outrepasse ce qui est nécessaire pour la protection de la sécurité nationale.

Solutions

J’ai soulevé plusieurs points concernant le projet de loi C-22 qui, selon moi, empêcheront le Comité de mener à bien son mandat.

Heureusement, je crois également qu’il existe des solutions relativement simples pour régler ces préoccupations.

Tout d’abord, on devrait éliminer le pouvoir permettant aux ministres d’écarter la fonction d’examen du Comité.

En deuxième lieu, le Comité devrait avoir accès aux documents, sans restrictions. Cela est nécessaire pour que le Comité soit en mesure de remplir son mandat adéquatement.

Je ne recommande pas de donner au Comité un large accès à l’information relative à la sécurité nationale et au renseignement sans tenir compte des risques. Je suis pleinement consciente des risques que représente l’échange de renseignements pour la sécurité. Je ferais toutefois remarquer qu’à mon bureau, nous avons le droit d’examiner tous les documents classifiés, y compris les documents relatifs au renseignement d’origine électromagnétique. Pour tous les dossiers d’enquête, des mesures de sécurité sont mises en place afin de respecter les critères de classification de sécurité des documents. Depuis plus de 30 ans, le Commissariat compose avec ces documents et il n’y a jamais en d’infraction en matière de sécurité. À mon avis, des mesures de sécurité similaires pourraient être mises en place pour le Comité sur la sécurité nationale et le renseignement et pour son Secrétariat. Il est important de noter que donner de l’information au Comité n’équivaut pas à une divulgation de cette information au public.

Dans le cas où l’on jugerait nécessaire de restreindre l’accès du Comité aux renseignements, je recommanderais alors l’ajout d’une dérogation à des fins d’intérêt public. Ainsi, les ministres seront tenus de déterminer si la non-divulgation des renseignements au Comité est nécessaire et proportionnée à l’intérêt du public à avoir un comité qui révise ces renseignements, tout en gardant à l’esprit la fonction de responsabilisation qu’il exerce.

En troisième lieu, on devrait définir un nombre de jours précis pour fournir les renseignements au Comité. D’après mon expérience, un délai de trente jours est généralement suffisant. Une prolongation du délai devrait être possible, mais seulement avec l’autorisation du Comité.

En quatrième lieu, le projet de loi devrait clairement prévoir que les réunions du Comité sont tenues publiquement par défaut. Les réunions devraient être tenues uniquement à huis clos lorsqu’un seuil clairement établi est atteint. Par exemple, lorsque la divulgation des renseignements durant une réunion publique porterait « atteinte à la sécurité nationale », et seulement pendant la durée nécessaire.

En cinquième lieu, les autres organismes de surveillance qui collaborent et échangent des renseignements avec le Comité ne devraient faire l’objet d’aucune restriction.

En sixième lieu, les décisions prises par les ministres devraient pouvoir faire l’objet d’un examen par la Cour fédérale.

Parallèlement à cette recommandation, je recommanderais également que, dans le cas où l’on établirait la nécessité d’établir des exclusions relatives à l’accès aux renseignements pour le Comité, tout différend au sujet de l’application des exclusions puisse faire l’objet d’un examen judiciaire. Cela limiterait le nombre de revendications d’exclusions.

Enfin, l’exemption prévue en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information pour le Secrétariat devrait être discrétionnaire et axée sur la protection des renseignements qui sont uniquement assujettis à la fonction d’examen du Comité. Je recommande également que l’exemption vise uniquement à protéger les renseignements, et non pas « n’importe quel » document qui contient des renseignements protégés. Ainsi, cela permettrait un accès véritable au Commissariat.

Conclusion

Les évènements tels que la récente décision de la Cour fédérale concernant la conservation de métadonnées de Canadiens par le SCRS, la révélation selon laquelle la police provinciale du Québec espionne les journalistes et l'affaire Snowden, ont effrité la confiance du public envers les organismes de sécurité et de renseignement.

Le travail du Comité constituera un important pilier pour regagner cette confiance et améliorer le cadre de responsabilisation de nos organismes de sécurité nationale.

Toutefois, le Comité doit être en mesure d’exercer son mandat selon un cadre juridique adéquat pour assurer sa réussite. À l’heure actuelle, le projet de loi C-22 n’atteint pas un bon équilibre entre l’intérêt en matière de sécurité nationale, et la transparence et la responsabilisation. Dans sa forme actuelle, le Comité ne sera pas en mesure d’atteindre son objectif.

Pour terminer, je tiens à remercier le comité de m’avoir donné l’occasion d’exprimer mon point de vue sur le projet de loi C-22. Je me ferai maintenant un plaisir de répondre à vos questions.

Merci, Monsieur le Président.