User Guide for social media accounts of the Office of
the Information Commissioner of Canada

The Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada (OIC) was established in 1983 under the Access to Information Act. The OIC assists individuals and organizations who believe that federal institutions have not respected their rights under the Act. It also ensures that the rights of government organizations and any involved third parties are respected.

Our social media accounts are an excellent way to interact in a clear, expeditious and user-friendly manner with Canadians who are interested in access to information, as well as in government transparency and accountability. We are looking to communicate information beyond the usual Web experience, but we invite you all the same to visit our website for more detailed information.

Content

The Strategic Communications and Parliamentary Affairs team manages the following accounts on behalf of the OIC:

  • Facebook - Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada/Commissariat à l'information du Canada
  • Twitter - @OIC_CI_Canada

The OIC's posts follow the standards, practices and tone pre-established by social media users who are interested in access to information and related issues. We make an effort to ensure that our posts are inviting, instructive and sometimes entertaining.

If you follow us, you can expect the posts that we broadcast to cover some or all of the following:

  • Information concerning
    • events relating to access to information, whether the OIC is participating in them or not;
    • litigation of interest to the OIC;
    • appearances by the Commissioner before parliamentary committees;
    • Right to Know Week and Grace-Pépin Access to Information Award;
  • Links to
    • speeches by OIC employees;
    • annual or special reports;
    • relevant information that is produced or broadcast elsewhere (e.g. work by other commissioners, advocacy organizations, researchers, medias and others);
  • Current events, interesting facts, quotes, videos or comments relating to access to information, transparency and accountability, open data, etc.

    Links to other websites

    Where appropriate, OIC accounts may post comments containing links to websites not operated by the OIC or the Government of Canada. These links are provided solely for the convenience and interest of users. As is customary in different departments, the OIC is not responsible for the accuracy , timeliness or reliability of the content on these sites. The OIC offers no guarantees in this regard, and is not responsible for information contained on these links, nor does it endorse the sites and their content.

    Retweet

    The retransmission of a tweet (Twitter) or use of the "share" function (Facebook) does not mean that the OIC endorses the information. We may relay news, links and personal observations that we consider relevant to access to information.

    Official Languages

    The Office of the Information Commissioner respects the Official Languages Act and is committed to ensuring that information products of equal quality are available in English and French.

    All of our posts are therefore available in both official languages. However, as is customary in different departments, we will reply to comments and questions that require a response in the official language of origin. Retweets will only be delivered in the language of the original author.

    Users should be aware that some links will direct them to sites of organizations or other entities which are not subject to the Official Languages Act, and that these sources are available only in the language in which they were written.

    Following

    The fact that the OIC decides to follow a user does not mean that it supports that user, or his or her views. We follow accounts that we consider relevant to our mandate and our work - particularly when they relate to advocacy for access to information and research in that area.

    Similarly, the OIC does not systematically support all users who follow one of the OIC's accounts. We will take steps to remove or block a follower only if it is clear that the follower is a "bot" or is not respecting comments etiquette.

    Comments and interaction

    Comments and interaction are strongly encouraged. All wall posts (Facebook) as well as @Replies and direct messages (Twitter) will be read. Any emerging themes and helpful suggestions will be passed on to the appropriate persons at the OIC. While we will not be able to respond individually to every message, messages will be treated on a case-by-case basis, and we will reply to them when we consider it appropriate, and in the official language of origin.

    If we think that a comment or a question requires a response or further clarification, we may make an official response and disseminate the information through our other channels, such as our website or other social media.

    "Like" function

    Facebook users may use the "like" function on the OIC's accounts. In doing so, they allow OIC posts and updates to appear on their newsfeed.

    You must have a valid Facebook account to "like" the OIC's accounts.

    Favourite pages

    The OIC's favourite pages on Facebook may include (without being limited to) non‑profit organizations, associations and other government agencies that we believe correspond to our mandate or that we consider relevant to access to information.

    The appearance of a particular page as a "favourite" on the OIC profile does not imply any endorsement on our part.

    Comments etiquette

    We welcome your comments, and expect that the conversation observes the general rules of a respectful civil discourse. You assume full responsibility for your comments, and all comments are in the public domain. Please be sure that your comments are relevant and courteous.

    Note that the Office of the Information Commissioner does not tolerate offensive, disrespectful or abusive comments about an individual or organization. We do not discriminate against any opinions, but we also reserve the right to modify or refuse comments which are any of the following:

    • contrary to the principles of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms;
    • racist, hateful, sexist, homophobic, defamatory, insulting or life-threatening;
    • serious, unproven or inaccurate accusations against individuals or organizations;
    • aggressive, coarse, violent, obscene or pornographic;
    • personal attacks or defamatory statements;
    • comments that encourage or suggest unlawful activity;
    • messages not written by the sender (or the copyright holder, as appropriate);
    • solicitations, advertisements or endorsements concerning any financial, commercial or non-governmental organization; furthermore, we do not permit attempted defamation or fraud with respect to any financial, commercial or non-governmental organization;
    • announcements from labour or political organizations;
    • messages written in a language other than English or French;
    • comments not sent by the author or comments posted by anonymous or "bot" accounts;
    • repetitive copy-and-paste comments by multiple users;
    • messages that are unintelligible or unrelated to the topic;
    • messages posted in capitals only (these are difficult to read and can convey the impression of shouting);
    • messages too far off topic;
    • any other message which, in the view of the forum moderators, does not follow the normal flow of discussion.

    In brief, be respectful and ensure that your comments are relevant to the section in which they are posted.

    Any individual who does not adhere to these terms of use may be excluded temporarily or permanently from the dialogue spaces on this site. Users may also be reported to Facebook or Twitter if they do not adhere to the service provider's terms of use.

    Other important remarks:

    • We cannot enter into discussions concerning party politics or ongoing investigations.
    • We do not respond to requests for media interviews or questions of a personal nature.
    • We do not receive complaints through social media.
    • We are unable to respond to all comments posted; however, we will attempt to take part in discussions where possible.
    • The opinions of participants commenting on these pages do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the OIC.
    • You participate at your own risk, taking personal responsibility for your comments, your username and the information provided. To protect your own privacy and that of others, please do not include telephone numbers or email addresses in your comments.
    • Users may post video responses provided that they respect this comments etiquette.
    • We do not consider comments concerning the work or professional activity of persons employed by the Office of the Information Commissioner.

    For all requests for media interviews, or to obtain additional information on an ongoing investigation, we encourage you to make use of the traditional communication channels.

    If you wish to lodge a formal complaint pursuant to the Access to Information Act, you must submit it in writing to the Office of the Information Commissioner. Please note that the OIC does not process complaints received by email or through social media.

    Availability

    The number of posts will vary, depending on the number of articles and other relevant material published each day. We commit to update and closely monitor our various accounts during regular working hours, i.e. from Monday to Friday, 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. ET. Like many social media users, however, we may sometimes update our account or reply to posts at other times of the day. We accept no responsibility for interruptions to service due to Twitter or Facebook downtime.

    Accessibility

    As third-party service providers, Twitter and Facebook are not bound by the Web accessibility policies of the Government of Canada.

    The Government of Canada is committed to ensuring a high level of accessibility, and works with third-party service providers to resolve problems in this regard.

    For more detailed information about accessibility and Facebook, please refer to the following link: http://www.facebook.com/help/?page=440. A more accessible version of Twitter can be found at: http://www.accessibletwitter.com/.

    Copyright

    Information posted by the Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada is subject to the Canadian Copyright Act. For further information, see the Important notices section of our website.

    Privacy

    The Twitter and Facebook accounts of the Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada are not Government of Canada websites. They represent our presence on the social media of third-party service providers. Users are encouraged to read the privacy policies of Twitter and Facebook.

    Information shared with the Office via social media is subject to the provisions of the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act. This means that the information you share through the OIC's Twitter and Facebook accounts can be captured, stored, consulted and disclosed in response to a request under either of those Acts.

    To protect your own privacy and that of others, the OIC recommends that you not include personal information in your comments or in the content you post. Personal information includes home addresses, telephone numbers, photographs containing images of identifiable individuals, and any other information consisting of personal information as defined in section 3 of the Privacy Act.

    OIC staff on social media

    Certain OIC employees have accounts on various social media. Despite their professional affiliation with the OIC, their posts do not represent the official position of the Office of the Information Commissioner. They are to be considered instead as the personal product of private citizens.

    Additional information

    If you have any questions regarding this policy, please contact us through our Facebook or Twitter accounts, or through this email address: general@oic-ci.gc.ca

    The traditional way of contacting us for official correspondence are detailed in the Contact us section of our website.

Guide d'utilisateur pour les comptes du
Commissariat à l'information du Canada sur
les médias sociaux

Le Commissariat à l'information du Canada (le Commissariat) a été fondé en 1983 aux termes de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. Le Commissariat aide les particuliers et les organismes qui croient que des institutions fédérales n'ont pas respecté leurs droits en vertu de la Loi. Il s'assure également que les droits des organisations gouvernementales et de tout autre tiers concerné soient respectés.

Les comptes que nous détenons sur les médias sociaux constituent un excellent moyen d'interagir de manière claire, rapide et conviviale avec les Canadiennes et les Canadiens qui s'intéressent à l'accès à l'information, à la transparence et à la responsabilité gouvernementale. Nous cherchons à communiquer des renseignements au-delà de l'expérience Web habituelle, mais nous vous invitons tout de même à consulter notre site Web pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements.

Contenu

L'équipe des Communications stratégiques et Affaires parlementaires gère les comptes suivants au nom du Commissariat :

  • Facebook - Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada/Commissariat à l'information du Canada
  • Twitter - @OIC_CI_Canada

Les billets publiés par le Commissariat observent les normes, les pratiques et le ton préétablis par les utilisateurs des médias sociaux qui s'intéressent à l'accès à l'information et aux questions qui s'y rapportent. Nous faisons un effort pour que nos billets soient invitants, instructifs et parfois amusants.

Si vous nous suivez, vous pouvez vous attendre à ce que les billets que nous diffusons couvrent une partie ou la totalité des éléments suivants :

  • des renseignements concernant :
    • les événements en lien avec l'accès à l'information auxquels le Commissariat participe ou non;
    • les affaires judiciaires présentant un intérêt pour le Commissariat;
    • les comparutions de la commissaire devant les comités parlementaires;
    • la Semaine du droit à l'information et le Prix Grace-Pépin de l'accès à l'information.
  • des liens vers
    • les allocutions des membres du personnel;
    • les rapports annuels ou les rapports spéciaux;
    • l'information pertinente, produite et diffusée ailleurs (p. ex. les travaux d'autres commissaires, d'organismes de défense, de chercheurs, d'organes d'information et autres).
  • des questions d'actualité, des faits intéressants, des citations, des vidéos ou des commentaires en lien avec l'accès à l'information, la transparence et la responsabilité gouvernementale, les données ouvertes, etc.

    Liens vers d'autres sites Web

    Le cas échéant, les comptes du Commissariat peuvent afficher des billets contenant des liens vers des sites Web qui ne sont pas exploités par le Commissariat ou le gouvernement du Canada. Ces liens sont uniquement fournis pour accommoder les utilisateurs. Tel qu'il est d'usage au sein de différents ministères, l e Commissariat n'est pas responsable de l'exactitude, de l'actualité ou de la fiabilité du contenu de ces sites. Le Commissariat n'offre aucune garantie à cet égard et n'est pas responsable des renseignements contenus dans ces liens, pas plus qu'il ne cautionne les sites et leur contenu.

    Reprise d'information

    La retransmission d'un microbillet (Twitter) ou l'utilisation de la fonction « partager » (Facebook) ne signifient pas que le Commissariat y souscrit. Il peut arriver que nous relayions des nouvelles, des liens et des observations personnelles que nous jugeons pertinents par rapport à l'accès à l'information.

    Langues officielles

    Le Commissariat à l'information respecte la Loi sur les langues officielles et s'engage à s'assurer que l'information soit offerte en français et en anglais et de qualité équivalente.

    Ainsi, tous les billets que nous diffusons sont disponibles dans les deux langues officielles. Cependant, tel qu'il est d'usage au sein de différents ministères, nous répondrons aux commentaires et aux questions qui exigent une réponse dans la langue officielle d'origine. Les microbillets retransmis (Retweets) sont diffusés uniquement dans la langue du billet original

    Les utilisateurs doivent être conscients que certains liens dirigent les utilisateurs vers des sites d'organismes ou d'autres entités qui ne sont pas assujettis à la Loi sur les langues officielles et que ces sources sont uniquement disponibles dans la langue dans laquelle elles ont été rédigées.

    Abonnement

    Lorsque le Commissariat décide de suivre un utilisateur, cela ne signifie pas qu'il appuie ce dernier. Nous nous abonnons aux comptes que nous jugeons pertinents en regard de notre mandat et de notre travail - plus particulièrement lorsqu'ils se rapportent à la défense de l'accès à l'information et à la recherche en la matière.

    De même, le Commissariat n'appuie pas systématiquement tous les utilisateurs qui s'abonnent à un des comptes du Commissariat. Nous prendrons des mesures pour retirer ou bloquer un abonné uniquement s'il est clair que ce dernier est un robot ou s'il ne respecte pas l'Étiquette sur les commentaires.

    Commentaires et interaction

    Les commentaires et l'interaction sont vivement encouragés. L'ensemble des publications sur le mur (Facebook) ainsi que des @Réponses et messages privés (Twitter) seront lus. Tous les nouveaux thèmes et toutes les suggestions utiles seront acheminés aux personnes concernées au sein du Commissariat. Bien que nous ne soyons pas en mesure de répondre individuellement à tous les messages, ceux-ci seront traités au cas par cas et nous y répondrons lorsque nous le jugerons approprié, et ce, dans la langue officielle d'origine.

    Si nous jugeons qu'un commentaire ou une question posée exige une réponse ou davantage d'éclaircissement, nous pourrions formuler une réponse officielle et diffuser l'information par l'intermédiaire de nos autres canaux, comme notre site Web ou d'autres médias sociaux.

    Fonction « j'aime »

    Les utilisateurs de Facebook peuvent utiliser la fonction « j'aime » sur les comptes du Commissariat. En le faisant, ils autorisent le Commissariat à publier et à afficher des mises à jour dans leur distributeur de nouvelles.

    Vous devez posséder un compte Facebook valide pour « aimer » les comptes du Commissariat.

    Pages favorites

    Les pages favorites du Commissariat sur Facebook pourraient comprendre (sans s'y limiter) des organismes sans but lucratif, des associations et d'autres organismes gouvernementaux qui, selon nous, correspondent à notre mandat ou que nous jugeons pertinents par rapport à l'accès à l'information.

    La présence d'une page particulière dans les pages « favorites » du Commissariat n'indique aucune forme de cautionnement de notre part.

    Étiquette sur les commentaires

    Vos commentaires sont les bienvenus, et nous nous attendons à ce que la conversation suive les règles générales d'un discours civique respectueux. Vous assumez l'entière responsabilité de vos commentaires, et tous les commentaires sont du domaine public. Veuillez vous assurer que vos commentaires soient pertinents et soyez courtois.

    N'oubliez pas que le Commissariat à l'information ne tolère pas les commentaires offensants, irrespectueux ou abusifs envers une personne ou un organisme. Nous ne faisons pas de discrimination contre quelque opinion que ce soit, mais nous nous réservons aussi le droit de modifier ou de refuser les commentaires qui présentent l'une des caractéristiques suivantes :

    • le non-respect de la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés;
    • des propos racistes, haineux, sexistes, homophobes, diffamatoires ou choquants ou des menaces de mort;
    • des accusations graves, non fondées sur des preuves ou inexactes contre des personnes ou des organismes;
    • des commentaires agressifs, grossiers, violents, obscènes ou pornographiques;
    • des attaques personnelles ou des déclarations diffamatoires;
    • des commentaires qui encouragent ou suggèrent une activité illégale;
    • des messages dont l'expéditeur n'est pas l'auteur (ou le titulaire des droits d'auteur, le cas échéant);
    • des sollicitations, des annonces ou des cautionnements concernant tout organisme financier, commercial ou non gouvernemental; de plus, nous n'autorisons pas les tentatives de diffamation ou de fraude à l'égard de tout organisme financier, commercial ou non gouvernemental;
    • des annonces provenant d'organisations syndicales ou politiques;
    • des messages écrits dans une langue autre que le français ou l'anglais;
    • des commentaires qui ne sont pas envoyés par l'auteur ou affichés par des comptes anonymes ou automatisés;
    • des commentaires répétitifs copiés-collés par des utilisateurs multiples;
    • des messages inintelligibles ou sans rapport avec le sujet;
    • des messages affichés uniquement en lettres majuscules (ceux-ci sont difficiles à lire et peuvent donner à penser que l'auteur crie);
    • des messages trop hors sujet;
    • tout autre message qui, selon les modérateurs du forum, ne suit pas le cours normal du débat.

    En résumé, soyez respectueux et assurez-vous que vos commentaires reflètent la section dans laquelle ils sont affichés

    Toute personne qui ne respecte pas ces modalités d'utilisation peut être exclue de façon temporaire ou permanente des espaces de dialogue sur ce site. Les utilisateurs peuvent également être signalés à Facebook et à Twitter s'ils ne respectent pas les modalités d'utilisation du fournisseur de services.

    Autres remarques importantes :

    • nous ne pouvons nous engager dans des discussions touchant à la politique des partis ou à des enquêtes en cours;
    • nous ne répondons pas à des demandes d'entrevue avec des médias ou à des questions d'ordre personnel;
    • nous ne recevons pas de plaintes via les médias sociaux;
    • nous ne pouvons pas répondre à tous les commentaires affichés. Toutefois, nous essaierons de participer aux discussions lorsque cela sera possible;
    • les opinions des participants qui commentent ces pages ne reflètent pas nécessairement les opinions du Commissariat;
    • vous participez à vos propres risques, en prenant la responsabilité personnelle de vos commentaires, de votre nom d'utilisateur et des renseignements fournis. Pour protéger votre vie privée et celle des autres, veuillez ne pas inclure de numéros de téléphone ou d'adresses de courriel dans votre commentaire;
    • les utilisateurs peuvent présenter des réponses vidéo pourvu qu'elles respectent la présente Étiquette sur les commentaires;
    • nous ne tenons pas compte des commentaires concernant le travail ou l'activité professionnelle des personnes à l'emploi du Commissariat.

    Pour toute demande d'entrevue avec les médias, ou pour obtenir de l'information supplémentaire sur une enquête en cours, nous vous encourageons à recourir aux voies de communication traditionnelles.

    Si vous souhaitez déposer une plainte officielle conformément à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information, vous devez la présenter par écrit au Commissariat. Veuillez noter que le Commissariat ne traite pas les plaintes acheminées par courriel ou via les médias sociaux.

    Disponibilité

    Le nombre de billets variera en fonction du nombre d'articles et d'autres documents pertinents publiés chaque jour. Nous nous engageons à mettre à jour et à suivre de près nos différents comptes durant les heures de bureau habituelles, soit du lundi au vendredi de 9 h à 16 h, HE. Cependant, à l'instar de plusieurs utilisateurs des médias sociaux, il se peut que nous mettions notre compte à jour ou répondions à des billets à d'autres moments de la journée. Nous n'acceptons aucune responsabilité en cas d'interruption de service dont les sites Twitter ou Facebook seraient responsables.

    Accessibilité

    Twitter et Facebook, à titre de fournisseurs de services tiers, ne sont pas liés par les politiques du gouvernement du Canada en matière d'accessibilité du Web.

    Le gouvernement du Canada s'engage à assurer un niveau élevé d'accessibilité et travaille avec les tiers fournisseurs de services afin de résoudre les problèmes à cet égard.

    Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l'accessibilité et Facebook, veuillez consulter le lien suivant :http://www.facebook.com/help/?page=440. Une version plus accessible de Twitter se trouve au : http://www.accessibletwitter.com/.

    Droits d'auteur

    Les renseignements publiés par le Commissariat à l'information du Canada sont assujettis à la Loi sur le droit d'auteur du Canada. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, consultez la section Avis importants de notre site Web.

    Confidentialité

    Les comptes Twitter et Facebook du Commissariat à l'information du Canada ne sont pas des sites Web du gouvernement du Canada et constituent notre présence sur les médias sociaux, des fournisseurs de services tiers. Les utilisateurs sont invités à lire les politiques de confidentialités de Twitter et de Facebook.

    Les renseignements partagés avec le Commissariat sur les médias sociaux sont assujettis aux dispositions de laLoi sur l'accès à l'information et de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, ce qui signifie que les renseignements que vous partagez via les comptes Twitter et Facebook du Commissariat peuvent être saisis, stockés, consultés et divulgués dans le cadre d'une demande présentée en vertu d'une de ces lois.

    Pour protéger votre vie privée et celle des autres, le Commissariat recommande de ne pas inclure de renseignements personnels dans vos commentaires ou dans le contenu que vous publiez. Les renseignements personnels comprennent les adresses de domicile, les numéros de téléphone, les photos comportant des images de personnes identifiables et toute autre information comportant des renseignements personnels, selon la définition fournie à l'article 3 de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

    Personnel du Commissariat sur les médias sociaux

    Certains employés du Commissariat possèdent des comptes sur divers médias sociaux. Malgré leur affiliation professionnelle au Commissariat, leurs billets ne représentent pas la position officielle du Commissariat - il faut plutôt les considérer comme la production personnelle de citoyennes et citoyens.

    Renseignements supplémentaires

    Si vous avez des questions au sujet de cette politique, veuillez communiquer avec nous via nos comptes Facebook ou Twitter, ou encore, via l'adresse courriel general@oic-ci.gc.ca

    Les façons habituelles de communiquer avec nous dans le cadre d'une correspondance officielle sont indiquées à la section Contactez-nous de notre site Web.